News & Resources
What You Need to Know About the DMV-349 Crash Report Form
If you are in an auto accident on any public traffic roadway in North Carolina, you are legally required to file a DMV-349 Crash Report Form if certain circumstances apply. The circumstances of an auto accident that require your file this form include accidents that result in fatalities, non-fatal injuries, property damage greater than $500 in value, seizure of vehicle with property damage, and seizure of vehicle that is subject to forfeiture (see § G.S. 20-28.2).
When you are in an auto accident where any of the above occur, you will need to contact the police. When they arrive on the scene of the accident, or if you notify them at the police station, they will gather information and once they return to the police department the investigating officer will complete the DMV-349 Crash Report Form. The investigating law enforcement agency is then required to forward this accident report to the DMV within ten days.
Where Do You Get the DMV 349 Crash Report Form?
The DMV-349 Crash Report form can be obtained online, in person at the DMV Headquarters, or through the mail. It is always wise to consult with a North Carolina auto accident attorney after a motor vehicle collision, and your attorney can also obtain the form for you and assist with the process.
Request the DMV-349 Crash Report Form Online: Depending on where your auto accident occurred in North Carolina, you may be able to request the DMV-349 Crash Report online, from the website of the Police Department in your county.
Request the DMV-349 Crash Report Form via Mail: If you choose to request the DMV- 349 Crash Report Form via mail, you can do so by completing Form TR-67, which is the Crash Report Request Form. Then, you mail this form to the Traffic Records Branch, Crash Report Unit, along with a check for $5.00, payable to NCDMV.
Request the DMV-349 Crash Report Form in Person: To request the DMV-349 Crash Report Form in person, you will show up in person at the DMV Headquarters with $5.00 in the form of cash, check, or money order, payable to NCDMV.
Reading and Understanding the DMV-349 Crash Report Form
The best way to ensure that you are correctly reading and fully understand the DMV-349 Crash Report Form is to read the DMV-349 Instruction Manual or, better yet, to work with a North Carolina auto accident attorney to interpret the form. Keep in mind that this report is going to be essential in your efforts to prove liability.
A Checklist for the Aftermath of an Auto Accident in NC
The following checklist for the aftermath of an auto accident will help you to navigate the confusing and possibly traumatic circumstances that follow your collision. It is important to avoid making mistakes that might endanger your right to compensation or otherwise damage your auto accident claim. Taking the following steps will go a long way towards ensuring that you have a strong case for liability and damages after an auto accident in NC.
Gather Evidence: You will want to gather evidence at the scene of the auto accident by taking photographs of the vehicles, the road conditions, any relevant roadway signs or signals, property damage, injuries, and anything else that might be important.
Gather Contact Information: Most people know that they should exchange information with the other driver, including contact details and insurance information. However, you should also look for witnesses of the accident, anyone who stopped to help, and anyone who saw the accident occur, and get their contact information, too.
Seek a Full Medical Evaluation: This is obvious if you have clear and immediate injuries. Yet, it is equally important to do this if you aren’t aware of any injuries or if your injuries seem mild. Failing to seek a full medical evaluation could leave you with injuries that grow worse with time and with no way to finance your treatment.
Contact Brown Moore & Associates, PLLC: The sooner you contact an attorney, the better off you will be. Your attorney can help you to ensure that you do everything right, including investigating the accident, establishing liability, and seeking fair compensation.
Report the Accident to Your Own Insurance Company: When you sign up for auto insurance, you make an agreement to notify your insurance company of any auto accidents that occur, so you must do this. However, you should be cautious with what you reveal.
Obtain a Copy of the DMV-349 Crash Report from the Incident: You can seek a copy of the Report form in the manners discussed above, or by having your attorney seek a copy of the report.
The skilled Charlotte auto accident attorneys at Brown Moore & Associates, PLLC can help you with every step that you must take after an auto accident in North Carolina, so call us as soon as possible after your accident.