Car Accident Lawyer Charlotte | Brown Moore & Associates, PLLC
Car accident injuries often result in a long list of expenses. Contact a car accident lawyer in Charlotte, NC for a free consultation at 704-335-1500. A car accident lawyer from Brown Moore & Associates, PLLC will apply their years of experience and legal skills to help you obtain full recovery from a personal injury claim.
Logo 704-335-1500
930 East Blvd Charlotte, NC 28203
No Results, No Attorney Fee
704-335-1500 (Local)
800-948-0577 (Toll Free)

North Carolina Fender Bender Law and Safety Inspections Aim to Improve Driver Safety

Oct 18, 2014 Brown Moore & Associates Articles

In an effort to reduce car accidents and improve driver safety, the state of North Carolina has passed a new law called the Fender Bender Law. The Fender Bender Law requires motorists involved in any car accident where no one is injured to move off to the side of the road as quickly and safely as possible. The purpose of the law is to protect both those drivers involved in the accident, as well as drivers of oncoming cars who may not be able to avoid collision with the remnants of the first accident. As a local trooper explained, “If there’s minor damage, they need to get to the shoulder as quickly as possible because there are other cars approaching from the rear . . . it could cause another collision. So it’s for their safety too.” According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation Road Rules, drivers that don’t follow the law could face a $110 fine and court costs.

Inspection Program Under Review

Also aimed at reducing car accidents is North Carolina’s inspection program. The program currently requires most vehicles under 35 years old to pass safety checks; drivers whose vehicles fail inspections must have repairs performed before they can register their cars. The inspections cost drivers $13.60 and take 20 to 25 minutes. However, Governor Bev Perdue has ordered a review of the program, asking the DMV to examine all aspects of the system, which costs North Carolina residents $86 million annually, to make sure that the program is as efficient and effective as possible in promoting the safety of North Carolina drivers. North Carolina State Senator Stan Bingham plans to introduce a bill to make cars that are three years old or newer exempt from the safety inspection. North Carolina is one of 16 states that require vehicle safety inspections. If you have been injured in an auto accident, contact an experienced personal injury attorney to discuss your case. You may be eligible for compensation if your injuries were caused due to the negligence of the other driver.